Member Feature: Caitlyn

blogheader-newmemberfeature4

caitlincarr

Name: Caitlyn Carr
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Hometown: Barrington, IL
College: College of Liberal Arts
Major: Art History
Campus Involvement: VP of Campus Relations for Alpha Gamma Delta, Student Worker in the Art History Department

Why did you choose the U of M?
 I loved that the U has a balance of big school, and city life. I wanted the security and community feeling that comes with a Big Ten school, but also the arts and diversity of a big city. It’s the best of both worlds.

Whats your favorite class you’ve taken at the U?
My favorite class that I have taken was my Freshman Seminar abroad. While in Minneapolis, we studied impressionism and practiced our drawing and painting skills. I study Art History, but I am no artist so I loved the balance of material that I was comfortable with, and aspects that were extremely challenging for me. Of course, it did not hurt that we spent a week in Paris and Southern France.

What does sustainability mean to you?
To me, sustainability means accepting the connection that you have to the world around you. Once that is realized, it is important to make a conscious effort to making your environments better. When the Earth thrives, you thrive.

152.gif

How do you practice self care?
Baths with Lush Bath Bombs. I usually have one on Sunday night to get me relaxed and ready for the week.

What is your favorite WAM Collective memory?
My favorite memory was having my first piece on the blog. It was so well received by the community and all my friends shared it. I felt a sense of pride and confidence in my ideas that I have never felt before. I love that WAM provided an opportunity for that.

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 7.55.18 PM.png

What do you want people to know about WAM?
The 2nd floor terrace has arguably the best Minneapolis skyline view.

If you could live in a book, TV show, or movie, what would it be?
Harry Potter. I’m a Hufflepuff.

How would you describe your “perfect” day?
Attending a Cubs game with all of my family and friends. The game is exciting, but tied, and then Kris Bryant hits a walk off in the bottom of the 9th. I eat at least 2 Chicago-style Hot Dogs.

Screen Shot 2017-03-05 at 7.56.11 PM.png

Where’s the best place to get coffee around here?
Sorry if you hate me, but I am a very loyal Starbucks customer. I can’t stay away. Spyhouse is probably my number 2. Caribou sucks.


Caitlyn Carr is a senior at the University of Minnesota majoring in Art History with a minor in CSCL. Originally from Chicago, she is loving her time in the Twin-Cities (though she misses her beloved Cubbies). Her passions include traveling, dancing, communicating only through emojis, and of course, telling anyone who will listen how amazing WAM is. Just back from a semester in Italy, she is thrilled to be more involved with the Collective for the upcoming year!
Leave a Reply

