Member Feature: Lauren

BlogHeader-NewMemberFeature1.jpg

laurengengler

Name: Lauren Gengler
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Hometown: Bloomer, Wisconsin
College: College of Liberal Arts
Major: Journalism and Art
Campus Involvement: WAM Collective member, Gallery Guard at WAM

What’s your favorite class you have taken at the U?
My Freshman Seminar (Visual Wonder) with Diane Katsiaficas was my absolute favorite class, I am still friends with many of the kids in that class and she continues to influence my art and my life.

Best concert or exhibition you’ve ever seen?
Last fall the Nash Gallery on West Bank had Covered in Time and History: The Films of Ana Mendieta and it honestly changed my life.

TheEstateofAnaMendieta.jpg

Image from the Estate of Ana Mendieta Collection, Courtesy of Galerie Lelong

How do you practice sustainability in your daily life?
I made the decision to care about myself more a little less than a year ago so I could live a longer, happier life. Since then I have sought treatment for my anxiety and depression, transitioned to a vegan diet, and have put more emphasis on creating and sustaining relationships.

If you could live in a book, TV show, or movie, what would it be? *
Portlandia, New Girl, or The Office, I am all for sitcoms
E!.jpg

Image via E!


What are you passionate about?
Art, and politics, and social issues, and dance, and Taylor Swift.

What’s one thing you think the world should know about WAM?
The WAM is free. It’s free. It is so darn accessible and it is here for everyone. It’s free.

What is your favorite WAM Collective memory?
Last year Laurel Darling and I were in the volunteer student tour guide program at WAM and we went to the holiday party with the collective even though neither of us were a part of it at the time, we had tons of fun and everyone made us feel so welcome!


Lauren Gengler is a second year from Wisconsin working on majors in Art and Journalism. She currently works at the WAM as a gallery guard. She spends most of her free time dancing around the kitchen, cooking noodles, eating entire avocados, and listening to the Hamilton soundtrack on repeat.

Leave a Reply

